Department 30th Anniversary 1986-2016

During the 1960’s, computer science emerged as an important area within the Electrical Engineering Department. The computer science curriculum was formally established in 1972, culminating the efforts of many faculty members led by Dr. Taylor L. Booth, a renowned pioneer in computer science education who is considered to be the founder of our department. In 1977, the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) designated UConn’s program as one of the very first accredited programs in the field of Computer Science. In the early 1980’s, the major was renamed Computer Science & Engineering. A separate Computer Science & Engineering Department was established in 1986 due to the growth in the number of computer science & engineering majors, faculty, and the success of the educational and research programs. The CSE program was the second program in the country to receive dual accreditation from the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) and the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET in 1993. Two undergraduate programs were added in 1999, a B.S. with a major in Computer Science and a B.S. in Engineering with a major in Computer Engineering.  In 2001, the B.S. in Computer Science was accredited by the ABET’s Computer Accreditation Commission (CAC). In the 21st century, the department continued to grow and gain national and international recognition in education and research. For the first time, the size of the faculty exceeded 20, with 10 faculty winning the National Science Foundation Early Career Development (NSF CAREER) Award. [metaslider id=3297]

Connect With Us