Department Leadership

Since its founding in 1972, the School of Computing has encompassed broad areas of intellectual discourse in informatics. Recently, our department has experienced rapid growth; undergraduate enrollment has doubled in the last four years and the number of doctoral students exceeds one hundred. Our accomplished and diverse faculty includes more than thirty full-time members with research and education expertise in traditional and emerging fields of computer science and engineering, including algorithms and complexity, bio and biomedical informatics, big data, computational science, cybersecurity, cyber-physical systems, artificial intelligence, and machine learning. With the increasing role that computers play in every area of science, engineering, and our society at large, our presence remains strong as we fulfill our mission of research, education, industrial and public outreach, and service to the profession.

School Leadership

School Director

Sanguthevar Rajasekaran
Office: ITE 252
Phone: (860) 486-2428
Personal Page

Professor, Associate Director Head for Research and Strategic Initiatives

Jinbo Bi
Office: ITE 233
Phone: (860) 486-1458
Personal Page

Professor, Associate Dept. Head for Undergraduate Programs

Ion Mandoiu
Office: ITE 261
Phone: (860) 486-3784
Personal Page

Professor, Associate Dept. Head for Graduate Studies

Alexander Russell
Office: ITE 241
Phone: (860) 486-4290
Personal Page


Connect With Us